2013 in review

This morning WordPress has sent me a summary of my year in blogging – complete with fireworks. I think I’ve done okay, if I say so myself – especially since I couldn’t write anything for the first 5 months of the year.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 51,000 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 19 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Now I have to say in all honesty, that statistic is dodgy – because 10 percent of my viewers arrived on a single day, 12 December 2013, when somebody posted a link to The Habsburg Inheritance on Reddit.  Not just any Reddit thread, either, but a salacious and gossipy one about incestuous families. As a result 7000+ social media tragics descended on my blog to gawk at the admittedly amazing breeding habits of one of Europe’s most important families.

It made for an exciting 24 hours – but I’m really much more grateful for my small, loyal band of followers, who encourage and stimulate me with their comments and suggestions, and make writing this blog worthwhile. Happy New Year to you all!

Click here to see the complete report.

2 responses to “2013 in review

  1. residentjudge

    Seven thousand!! That would have skewed your stats graph for weeks! I’m quite disappointed that my most popular blog post is about jellyfish of all things. Every day it tops the list of pages viewed. Who would have thought that there could be so much interest in jellyfish? (especially as it’s not even jellyfish- they’re sand snail egg sacs).

    • Oh yes, Janine, I still have a tsunami running through the stats that makes everything else look like a flat line.

      That’s hilarious about Your jellyfish post. It reminds me of how for years my most cited article on the web was a recipe for ‘Marion Diamond’s pizza dough’. Depressing, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

